

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES Governance Committee

OPEN SESSION AGENDA

April 27, 2023 University of North Carolina School of the Arts 3:05 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

SAAB 306

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Anna Folwell, Committee Chair; Skip Dunn; Rhoda Griffis; Ches McDowell; Ralph Womble; Mark Land (ex officio)

EXOFFICIO:

Reid Wilson, Dept. of Natural and Cultural Resources

COMMITTEE STAFF:

Jim DeCristo (Chief of Staff), David Harrison (General Counsel), Kevin Bitterman, (Kenan Institute, Ginger Caston (Staff), Amanda Balwah (University Secretary)

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Dmitri Vorobiev (Faculty Council); Darren Chiott (Staff Council)

AGENDA

OPEN SESSION

1.	Call to Order and Confirm Quorum	. Chair Folwell
2.	Approval of February 22, 2023, Minutes	. Chair Folwell
3.	BOT Member Terms.	.Jim DeCristo
4.	Report on State Relations and State Budget	.Jim DeCristo
5.	Motion for Closed Session	Chair Folwell
6.	Report from Closed Session	Chair Folwell
7.	Motion to Adjourn	Chair Folwell

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES Governance Committee

DRAFT OPEN MINUTES

February 22, 2023 University of North Carolina School of the Arts 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Zoom https://uncsa.zoom.us/j/95146111163

TRUSTEES PRESENT

Anna Folwell (Committee Chair), Ches McDowell, Mark Land (ex-officio), Ralph Womble, Nia Franklin

TRUSTEES ABSENT

Skip Dunn, Rhoda Griffis, Secretary Reid Wilson

COMMITTEE STAFF PRESENT

Jim DeCristo (Vice Chancellor for Economic Development and Chief of Staff), David Harrison (Vice Chancellor for Institutional Integrity and General Counsel), Ginger Caston (Committee Staff), Amanda Balwah (Secretary to BOT), Darren Chiott (Staff Council Representative), Andy Paris (Faculty Council Representative)

OTHER ATTENDEES

Patrick Sims (Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost), Claire Machamer (Vice Chancellor for Strategic Communications), Lissy Garrison (Vice Chancellor for Advancement), Pree Nayak (Media Relations Manager)

CONVENE MEETING AND CONFIRM QUORUM

Chair Anna Folwell called the Governance Committee of the University of North Carolina School of the Arts to order at 11:10 a.m. A quorum was present.

Chair Folwell welcomed attendees welcoming everyone and introduced UNCSA's newest Trustee, Nia Franklin.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chair Folwell requested Committee members to review the minutes from the December 1, 2022, meeting. With no call for question or revision, Chair Folwell called for a motion to approve the minutes as presented.

MOTION: Ralph Womble moved to approve the open session December 1, 2022, meeting minutes. Mark Land seconded the motion, and the minutes were unanimously approved.

BOT MEMBER TERMS

Chair Folwell shared an update on the six Board vacancies due to be open as of July 2023. Five positions have been accepted by candidates and required paperwork is in process. The Committee will discuss the one remaining position open and potential candidate/s during closed session.

MOTION TO MOVE TO CLOSED SESSION

Chair Folwell requested a motion to move into closed session.

MOTION: Mark Land made the motion to move into closed session. Ralph Womble seconded the motion. Mark Land moved the motion to go into closed session to prevent the disclosure of information consider the qualifications, competence, performance, or condition of appointment of a public officer or employee or prospective public officer or employee. The motion was unanimously approved.

MOTION TO RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

Chair Folwell requested a motion to return to open session. Mark Land made the motion to return to open session. The motion was anonymously approved.

REPORT FROM CLOSED SESSION

Chair Folwell reported the committee had discussed a candidate currently being considered for the 1 open vacancy to be filled by July 2023.

MOTION TO ADJOURN

With no further business to discuss, Chair Folwell requested a motion to adjourn the February 22, 2023, Governance Committee meeting.

A motion to adjourn was made by Mark Land, seconded by Ralph Womble and with unanimous approval, the meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by: Ginger Caston, Executive Assistant Governance Committee Staff

UNCSA Board of Trustees Terms Voting Members

Name	Served	Eligible	Notes
Jeffrey Bullock	BOG: 2021-2025	1 full term	Filled Stephen Berlin vacancy
Kyle Petty	LEG (Senate): Partial 2020-2021; 2021-2025	1 full term	Reappointed for full term Filled Peter Brunstetter vacancy (resigned 10/22/19)
Greer Cawood	BOG: Partial 2013-2015; 2015-2019; 2019-2023	0 full term	Reappointed for full term Filled Barbara Goodmon vacancy (resigned 7/8/13)
Noel "Skip" Dunn	BOG: Partial 2012-2015; 2015-2019; 2019-2023	0 full term	Reappointed for full term Filled Lee Chaden vacancy, (resigned 12/2011)
Anna Folwell	LEG (Senate): Partial 2016-2019; 2019- 2023	1 full term	Filled Isaac Green vacancy (6/30/15)
Peter Juran	LEG (House): Partial 2019-2023	2 full terms	Filled Phillip Horne vacancy (3/2021)
Graydon Pleasants	BOG: Partial 2021-2025	2 full terms	Filled Al Crawford vacancy
Mark Land	BOG: 2015-2019; 2019-2023	0 full term	Filled Claire Christopher vacancy
Charles "Ches" McDowell	LEG (House): 2021-2025	1 full term	Filled Elizabeth Madden vacancy
Nia Franklin	BOG: 2023-2025	2 full terms	Filled Paul Tazewell vacancy
Rhoda Griffis	BOG: 2021-2025	1 full term	Filled Erna Womble vacancy
Ralph Womble Chair	BOG: 2015-2019; 2019-2023	0 full term	Filled Don Flow vacancy Reappointed for full term
SGA			
Kayli Kimerer	Ex Officio: 2022-2023	Designated 1-yr term	SGA President

Emeritus, Alumni, Ex- Officio, Foundation Liaison, Honorary	Non-voting, not counted towards quorum		
Reid Wilson	Ex Officio	Designated by Legislation	Replaced Susi Hamilton
Sandi Macdonald	Ex Officio	Designated by Legislation	Filled David Worters vacancy
Tom Kenan	Emeritus	Lifetime	
Beth Petty	Alumni: July 1, 2021-June 30, 2023	2-yr term	Filled Al Crawford vacancy
David Broughton	Foundation Liaison to BOT: 2022-2024; 2-year term	Designated by Foundation President for 2-yr term	Filled Peter Juran vacancy
Clare Jordan	Board of Visitor Liaison: 1-year term flexible, July 2022- 2023	Designated by BOV Chair for 1-yr term	Filled Sue Henderson vacancy
Mark Land	BOT liaison to Foundation: 2-year term 2021-2023	Elected by the board	Replaced Ches McDowell
Anna Folwell	BOT liaison to the Board of Visitors: 2-year term 2021-2023	Elected by the board	Filled Mark Land vacancy