Governance Committee The University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Thursday, December 5, 2013 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Room 301 Hanes Student Commons

OPEN SESSION MINUTES

Committee Members Present

- * Charlie Lucas
- * Erna Womble
- * Elizabeth Madden
- Greer Caywood
 Jim DeCristo, Staff
 Lynda Lotich, Staff
 Joan Roggenkamp, Staff
 David Harrison, GA Attorney
 Carrie Johnston, GA Attorney
 Mike Wakeford, Faculty
 Dolores Watson, Staff Council
- * Denotes voting

Committee Members Absent

Skip Dunn
Rob King, Ex-officio
Secretary Susan Kluttz
Justin Poindexter, Alumni
Betsy Towns, Faculty Council
Trish Casey, Faculty

The Governance Committee of the University of North Carolina School of the Arts was called to order at 2:08 p.m. in Room 301 of the Hanes Student Commons by Chair Charlie Lucas. A quorum was confirmed.

Approval of Minutes

Motion: Erna Womble moved that the Open Session minutes of the December 6, 2012; February 13, 2013; May 2, 2013; and September 26, 2013 be approved as submitted. Greer Cawood seconded and the motion was approved.

Review of Board Term and Vacancies

Jim DeCristo reviewed the Board of Trustees terms and positions and at the present there are no vacancies but asked the Committee members to be thinking of potential candidates.

Review of Committee Responsibilities and BOT Orientation Chair Charlie Lucas

Since a quorum was not present, the minutes of previous meetings were not approved and no voting business was conducted.

Jim DeCristo reviewed the Board of Trustees terms and positions on the Board. At the present, there are no vacancies to be filled. He asked Committee members to be thinking of future candidates to submit for recommendation, should a vacancy occur.

Mr. DeCristo gave a brief report on the plans for the UNCSA 50th Anniversary celebration.

He reported that the new Board of Governors liaison for UNCSA is Leroy Lail, from the Hickory area.

There being no other business to discuss, the Governance Committee Meeting was adjourned at 2:55 p.m.

Submitted by: Joan Roggenkamp, Staff