North Carolina School of the Arts with Logo
School of Design and Production School of Drama School of Filmmaking School of Music Visual Arts Academic Programs Student Life School of Music Home apply search UNCSA Home
 
Quick Links Navigation

Faculty

School of Music faculty maintain active concert careers, presenting many recitals annually on the School of the Arts campus, as well as concerts across the United States and around the world.

Karen Beres, Interim Dean of the School of Music

Timothy Olsen, Assistant Dean - Graduate programs
David Winkelman, Assistant Dean - Undergraduate and High School programs

Faculty by Discipline

Brass
Collaborative Piano
Conducting
Composition
Guitar
Harp
Jazz
Organ

Percussion
Piano
Strings
Voice
Woodwinds
Classroom Instructors
Accompanying Staff

Brass

Judith Saxton

Judith Saxton
Trumpet

Office: Gray, Studio 103
Phone: (336) 734-2921
Email: saxtonj@uncsa.edu

David Jolley

Maria Serkin
Horn

Office: Gray, Studio 106B
Phone: (336) 631-1524
Email: serkinm@uncsa.edu

John Ilika

John Ilika
Trombone

Office: Gray, Studio 104
Phone: (336) 734-2832
Email: ilikaj@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Collaborative Piano

Allison Gagnon

Allison Gagnon
Collaborative Piano Program; Accompanist

Office: Gray, Studio 239
Phone: (336) 631-1533
Email: gagnona@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Conducting

Verena Moesenbichler-Bryant

Verena Möesenbichler-Bryant


Phone: (919) 491-3841
Email: bryantv@uncsa.edu

Christopher James Lees

Christopher James Lees
Director of Orchestral Activities

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 178
Phone: (336) 770-3357
Email: leesc@uncsa.edu

Nathan Zullinger

Nathan Zullinger
Choral Conducting & Cantata Singers

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 258
Email: zullingern@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Composition

Lawrence Dillon

Lawrence Dillon
Composition; Counterpoint

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 188
Phone: (336) 770-3253
Email: dillonl@uncsa.edu

 Kenneth Frazelle. Photo Credit Cary Clifford

Kenneth Frazelle
Composition; Orchestration

Office: Gray, Studio 136A
Phone: (336) 631-1272
Email: frazellek@uncsa.edu

Michael Rothkopf

Michael Rothkopf
Composition

Office: Gray, Studio 139
Phone: (336) 631-1581
Email: rothkm@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Guitar

Joe Pecoraro

Joseph Pecoraro
Guitar, Guitar Pedagogy

Office: Gray, Studio 252
Phone: (336) 631-1538
Email: pecorj@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Harp

Jacquelyn Bartlett

Jacquelyn Bartlett
Harp

Office: Gray, Studio 136D

Email: bartlettj@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Jazz

Ronald Rudkin

Ronald Rudkin
Jazz and Music Theory

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 195
Phone: (336) 770-3356
Email: rudkinr@uncsa.edu

Organ

Timothy Olsen

Timothy Olsen
Assistant Dean of the Graduate Program; Organ

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 190
Phone: (336) 770-3254
Email: olsent@uncsa.edu

Percussion

John R. Beck

John R. Beck
Percussion

Office: Gray, Studio 102
Phone: (336) 734-2833
Email:beckj@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Piano

Allison Gagnon

Allison Gagnon
Collaborative Piano Program; Accompanist

Office: Gray, Studio 239
Phone: (336) 631-1533
Email: gagnona@uncsa.edu

Eric Larsen

Eric Larsen
Piano

Office: Gray, Studio 238
Phone: (336) 631-1532
Email: larsene@uncsa.edu

Dmitri Shteinberg

Dmitri Shteinberg
Piano; Piano Literature

Office: Gray, Studio 242
Phone: (336) 631-1535
Email:shteinbergd@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Strings

Ida Bieler

Ida Bieler
Violin

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 187
Phone: (336) 770-3358
Email:bieleri@uncsa.edu

Kevin Lawrence

Kevin Lawrence
Violin

Office: School of Music, Studio 194
Phone: (336) 770-3360
Email:lawrencek@uncsa.edu

Janet Orenstein

Janet Orenstein
Violin

Office: School of Music, Studio 187
Phone: (336) 770-3358
Email:orensteinj@uncsa.edu

Sheila Browne

Sheila Browne
Viola

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 189
Phone: (336) 770-3361
Email:brownes@uncsa.edu

Brooks Whitehouse

Brooks Whitehouse
Cello

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 191
Phone: (336) 770-3354
Email:whitehouseb@uncsa.edu

Paul Sharpe

Paul Sharpe
Double Bass

Office: Gray, Studio 142
Phone: (336) 770-3351
Email:sharpep@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Voice

Nicholas Muni

Nicholas Muni
Artistic Director of A. J. Fletcher Opera

Office: Gray, Studio 250
Phone: (336) 631-1529
Email: munin@uncsa.edu

Alen Berryhill

Allen Berryhill
Dance Movement for Singers


Phone: (336) 817-7587
Email:berryhilla@uncsa.edu

Janine Hawley

Janine Hawley
Acting for Singers


Phone: (336) 403-1755
Email: hawleyj@uncsa.edu

Steven LaCosse

Steven LaCosse
Managing Director of Fletcher Opera Institute

Office: Gray, Studio 251
Phone: (336) 631-1537
Email: lacosses@uncsa.edu

Marion Pratnicki

Marion Pratnicki
Voice

Office: Gray, Studio 235
Phone: (336) 770-3256
Email:pratnickim@uncsa.edu

Glenn Siebert

Glenn Siebert
Voice, Vocal Literature

Office: Gray, Studio 255
Phone: (336) 631-1540
Email: siebertg@uncsa.edu

Marilyn Taylor

Marilyn Taylor
Voice

Office: Gray, Studio 259
Phone: (336) 631-1541
Email:taylorm@uncsa.edu

Angela Ward

Angela Ward
Fletcher Vocal Coach

Office: Gray, Studio 108
Phone: (336) 734-2831
Email: warda@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Woodwinds

Tadeu Coelho

Tadeu Coelho
Flute

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 192
Phone: (336) 770-3355
Email: coelhot@uncsa.edu

Robin Driscoll

Merideth Hite
Oboe

Office: Gray, Studio 249
Phone: (336) 631-1526
Email:hitem@uncsa.edu

Oskar Espina-Ruiz

Oskar Espina-Ruiz
Clarinet

Office: Gray, Studio 237
Phone: (336) 631-1525
Email:espina-ruizo@uncsa.edu

Saxton Rose

Saxton Rose
Bassoon

Office: Gray, Studio 135
Phone: (336) 770-3359
Email:roses@uncsa.edu

Taimur Sullivan

Taimur Sullivan
Saxophone

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 196
Phone: (336) 770-3353
Email:sullivant@uncsa.edu

Top of page

Classroom Instructors

Karen Beres

Karen Beres
Interim Dean of School of Music, Keyboard Skills

Phone: (336) 770-3251
Office: School of Music Complex, Room 183
Email:beresk@uncsa.edu

Michael Dodds

Michael Dodds
Music History

Office: Gray, Studio 236
Phone: (336) 770-3258
Email: doddsm@uncsa.edu

David Winkelman

David Winkelman
Assistant Dean of Undergraduate & High School Programs; Aural Skills

Office: School of Music Complex, Studio 186
Phone: (336) 770-1315
Email: winked@uncsa.edu


Lynn Beck

Lynn Beck
Theory & Aural Skills


Phone: (336) 770-3255
Email: beckl@uncsa.edu

 

John Ferri
Theory

Office: Gray, Studio 257
Phone: (336) 770-1351
Email: ferrij@uncsa.edu

Robert Rocco

Robert Rocco
Accompanist; Graduate Aural Skills

Office: Gray, Studio 117
Phone: (336) 770-1446
Email: roccor@uncsa.edu

 

Jazz and Music Theory, see Ronald Rudkin

Composition; Orchestration, see Kenneth Frazelle

Composition, see Michael Rothkopf

Composition; Counterpoint, see Lawrence Dillon

Top of page

Accompanying Staff

Mary Ann Bills

Mary Ann Bills
Accompanist

Office: Gray, Studio 115
Phone: (336) 978-4845
Email: billsma@uncsa.edu

 

Nancy Johnston
Accompanist

Office: Gray, Studio 241
Phone: (336) 631-1530
Email: johnstonn@uncsa.edu

 

Accompanist, see Allison Gagnon

Accompanist, see Robert Rocco

Top of page

Be a part of the Dean's CouncilMake a financial gift to the school of Music