Academic Calendar - UNCSA

Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2016
Monday, August 8 E-Z Arts opens for late registration and schedule changes
Thursday, August 11 New High School students arrive for orientation
Saturday, August 13 Returning High School students arrive for orientation
Monday, August 15 High School classes begin
Tuesday, August 16 New College students arrive for orientation
Wednesday, August 17 High School academic classes held
Thursday, August 18 Returning College students arrive for orientation
Friday, August 19 Students check in at their Art School
Monday, August 22 College classes begin; Special Student registration
Wednesday, August 24 High School academic classes held
Friday, August 26 Last day to add or drop a class
Friday, September 2 Census
Monday, September 5 Labor Day; classes will be held
Wednesday, September 28 Midterm (HS)
Friday, October 7 Last day to withdraw from a class (with a grade of "W")
Saturday-Tuesday, October 8-11

Fall Break; no classes held; offices remain open Monday and Tuesday.

High School Residence Halls close at noon on Saturday, October 8, and reopen at noon on Tuesday, October 11

Wednesday, October 12 Classes resume; High School academic classes held
Monday-Friday, October 24-28 Spring semester course planning
Monday-Friday, October 31-Nov. 11 Online registration for Spring classes
Tuesday, November 22 Liberal Arts classes end
Wednesday-Sunday, November 23-27

Thanksgiving Holiday; no classes held; offices remain open Wednesday

High School Residence Halls close at noon on Wednesday, November 23, and reopen at noon on Sunday, November 27. (Apartments remain open over break)

Monday-Wednesday, November 28-30

Liberal Arts exam period

Tuesday, November 29

High School classes end

Wednesday-Friday, November 30-Dec. 2

High School exam period

Thursday, December 1

Art School activities, classes and/or exams resume

Monday-Saturday, December 5-17

Intensive Arts

High School and College Residence Halls close at noon on Saturday, December 17 (Apartments remain open over break)

Spring Semester 2017
Monday, January 2 E-Z Arts opens for late registration and schedule changes.
Sunday, January 8 High School and College Residence Halls open at noon
Monday, January 9 Classes begin; Special Student registration
Monday-Tuesday, January 9-10 Students check in at their Art Schools
Friday, January 13 Last day to add or drop a class
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King Jr. Day; no classes held; offices closed
Monday, January 23 Census
Friday, February 24 Last day to withdraw from a class (with a grade of "W")
Wednesday, March 1 Midterm (HS)
Saturday-Sunday, March 4-12

Spring Break; no classes held; offices remain open Monday-Friday

High School and College Residence Halls close at noon on Saturday, March 4, and reopen at noon on Sunday, March 12 (Apartments remain open)

Monday, March 13 Classes resume
Monday-Friday, March 27-31 Fall semester course planning
Monday-Friday, April 3-14 Online Registration
Monday, May 1 College classes end
Tuesday-Thursday, May 2-4 Liberal Arts exam period
Wednesday, May 3 High School academic classes held
Friday, May 5 High School academic classes end
Saturday, May 6

Undergraduate and Graduate Commencement at 10 a.m.

College Residence Halls/Apartments close at 6 p.m. on May 6  for non-graduating students. College Residence Halls/Apartments close at noon on May 7  for graduating students.

Monday-Wednesday, May 8-10 High School final exam period
Thursday, May 11 High School exam makeup day
Saturday, May 13

High School Commencement at 10 a.m.

High School Residence Halls close at 6 p.m. on Thursday, May 11 for non-graduating students, and close at 4 p.m. on Saturday, May 13 for graduating seniors.

Three-Year Academic Calendar