Lindsay Jones

Sound DesignSchool of Design and Production

Lindsay Jones

Lindsay Jones is a composer and sound designer for theatre, film and television. His music for film has been heard in film festivals around the world including Cannes, SXSW, Slamdance, Los Angeles Film Festival, Chicago International Film Festival, Full Frame Film Festival, Middle East International Film Festival (Dubai), Chicago Underground Film Festival and L.A. Latino Film Festival. His music for television has been featured on HBO, Bravo, Sundance Channel, IFC, Telemundo and Independent Lens on PBS.


  • Has taught and/or lectured at Yale University, Northwestern University, The Theatre School at DePaul University and The National High School Institute 

Career Highlights

  • Composed music for over 30 films, including the score for the Oscar-winning short documentary "A Note of Triumph: The Golden Age of Norman Corwin"
    for HBO Films, "The Brass Teapot" for Magnolia Pictures and "Family Practice" 
    for Sony Pictures/Lifetime Television
  • Composed music for numerous commercials for Martha Stewart, Nike and Staples, as well as videogames, including "The Digits: Fraction Blast," available for Android and iOS platforms
  • Theatre creadits include "Slave Play," "The Nap," "A Time To Kill" and "Bronx Bombers" on Broadway; "Mankind," "Bootycandy And The Burnt Part Boys" at Playwrights Horizons; "Kings," "Privacy," "Wild With Happy" and "The Brother/Sister Plays" at the Public Theater; "Dedication Or The Stuff Of Dreams" starring Nathan Lane and Marian Seldes at Primary Stages; "The God Of Hell" starring Tim Roth and Randy Quaid at Actors Studio; "Something You Did" starring Joanna Gleason at Primary Stages; and "Through The Night" at Union Square Theatre
  • Composed and designed for world premieres of plays by Sam Shepard, David Mamet, A.R. Gurney, Terrence McNally, John Guare, Robert Ohara, Warren Leight, Lynn Nottage, Tarell Alvin McCraney, David Lindsay-Abaire, Rupert Holmes, Steven Dietz, Craig Lucas, Richard Dresser, Romulus Linney, Carey Perloff, Bruce Norris, Sarah Burgess, Naomi Wallace and many others

Awards, Recognitions & Honors

  • Received seven Joseph Jefferson Awards and twenty-four nominations, two ASCAP Plus Awards, two Ovation Awards and three nominations, a Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Award, a San Diego Theatre Critics Circle Award and two nominations, a Garland Award, a Ticket Holder Award, a Scenie Award and a Chicago Stage Talk Award
  • Nominations include three for Drama Desk Awards, five for Broadway World Awards, three for Helen Hayes Awards, three for Barrymore Awards, and for Henry Hewes Design Awards, LA Weekly Theatre Awards, Austin Critics Table Awards, Connecticut Critics Circle Awards, AUDELCO Awards and NAACP Theatre Awards
  • Jones was the first composer/sound designer to win the Michael Maggio Emerging Designer Award


B.F.A.UNC School of the Arts