UNCSA films, filmmakers honored with major awards at festival

Clarke Phillips, Will Church, Festival Programmer Violet Arth and Abby Davenport at Real to Reel Film Festival"Adrift," "Mundance," "Shadowboxing" and "Good Boy Cerberus" were named award winners by The Real to Reel Film Festival at their Wrap party on Saturday, July 24, 2021.
"Adrift" won both Best Student/Amateur Short and the Best of Fest honors.
Editor Jacob Boyle won Best Editing for his work on the narrative short "Shadowboxing" and the animated short "Good Boy Cerberus" (with Trevor Stevens).
Composer Tyler Hawes and sound designer Abby Meaux won Best Score for their work on "Mundance."
“Deepwater Sponger,” “Fishtown,” “Homecoming," “Stuffed,” “Tiger Blanket” and “You Know His Name” all also screened during the festival July 21-24.
The Real to Reel festival was held in-person in Kings Mountain, N.C., at the Joy Theater.

Adriana Herring, Abby Davenport, Will Church, Jacob Boyle and Clarke Phillips each attended the festival and represented UNCSA and their films in person, speaking in question-and-answer sessions at the festival.


“Adrift” is written and directed by Brian Storck; produced by Andrew Kucmierz; with cinematography by Lam Huynh; production design by Shelby Grzech; editing by Nigel Scott; sound design by Olivia Moore and Nigel Scott; visual effects supervision by Sarah Loveland; music by William Church; costume design by Andrew J. Senn; hair and makeup design by Camryn Maiorana.


“Mundance” is written by Aiden Winter-Deely; directed by Abby Davenport and Aiden Winter-Deely; produced by Nick Bailey; with animation by Aiden Winter-Deely, Abby Davenport, Vi DeLeon, Kasey Lewis and Melissa Rooker; edited by Lauren-Ellen Adair; sound designed by Abby Meaux and music by Tyler Hawes. 


“Shadowboxing” is written by Zander Heiselman, Reece Clemmons, and Ralph Parker; directed by Zander Heiselman; produced by Jenna Cusack; with cinematography by Ariano Trevino-Angelone; production designed by Grayson Fisher; edited by Jacob Boyle; sound designed by Samuel Bailey; music by Isaac Silva and Michael McKeithen, Jr.; costume designed by Olivia Alicandri and hair & makeup design by Courtney Kakac.

“Good Boy Cerberus”

“Good Boy Cerberus” is written by Kam Szeliga, Vale Stanley and MK Singleton; directed by MK Singleton; produced by Emily Gallinger and Robert Mageau; edited and sound designed by Jacob Boyle and Trevor Stevens; music by Lizzie He; and lead animation by MK Singleton, Kam Szeliga, and Vale Stanley.

“Deepwater Sponger”

“Deepwater Sponger” is written and directed by Connor Ryan; produced by Dillon Dipietro; cinematography by Katie Mlinek; production design by Emily Kuhlmann; editing by Jack Hansen; sound design by Nigel Scott and Olivia Moore; visual effects supervision by Mark Jabourian; special effects supervision by Lucas Sanders; music by Noland Vannoy; costume design by Sarah Loveland; hair and makeup design by Amelia Brown.


“Fishtown” is written and directed by Max Williams and Emma “Erma” Richardson; with lead animation by Max Williams; backgrounds by Emma “Erma” Richardson; in between animation by Beau Sheil and MK Singleton; sound designed by Kevin Mackler, and music by Michael Gaffney.


“Homecoming” is directed by Travis Stewart; written by Kelly Simpson; produced by Zach Chaloux and Adriana Herring; cinematography by Emma Manzer; production design by Cecilia Pitts; editing and sound design by Kelly Hois and Abby Meaux; music by Lizzie He; costume design by Sarah Sims; hair & makeup design by Whitney Cline.


“Stuffed” is written by Willow Longbrake; directed by Fer MacFarlane; produced by Jenna Cusack and Julia Lofton Walpole; with cinematography by Willow Longbrake; production design by Shelby Grzech; edited and sound designed by Jack Hansen; music by Tyler Hawes; costume design by Brandi McKinnon; and hair & makeup by Cassie Richardson.

“Tiger Blanket”

“Tiger Blanket” is directed by Caro Knight; written by Ashley Miller and Robert Mageau; produced by Julia Lofton Walpole and Robert Mageau; animation by Madison Crisp, Beau Sheil and Victoria Sosa; cinematography by Willow Longbrake; production design by Abel Brone-Hammer; editing by Isaac Balachandran; sound design by Shannon Rose Kelly; music by Alexandra Franco-Zorro.

“You Know His Name”

“You Know His Name” is written by Desiree Winns and Clarke Phillips; directed by Clarke Phillips; produced by Robert Mageau; with cinematography by Ben Trevey; production design by Ben Ter Haar; edited by Isabel Rodriguez; sound design by Vasiliki Omirly; music by Michael McKeithen, Jr.; and costume design by Sarah Sims.

Contact: Kate Miller

July 28, 2021

Submit an announcement