Three UNCSA-connected films won awards at the Longleaf Film Festival

Nine UNCSA short films — “Adrift,” “C.A.I.N.,” “Good Boy Cerberus,” “Deepwater Sponger,” “Her Skin,” “Jazmin,” “Mundance,” “Tiger Blanket” and “You Know His Name” — plus one alumni feature, “Landlocked,” and one alumni short, “Free Order,” screened May 13 and 14 at the North Carolina Museum of History as part of the Longleaf Film Festival.
On Saturday night, May 14, three of the UNCSA-connected films won top festival honors:

  • “Good Boy Cerberus” won the 2022 Animated Film/Best Overall Award. Producer Bobby Mageau was there to accept the award on behalf of the “Good Boy Cerberus” team.
  • “C.A.I.N.” won the 2022 Web Pilot/Best Overall Award. Producer Pree Nyak accepted the honor via pre-recorded video.
  • Alumni film “Landlocked” won the 2022 Narrative Feature/Best Drama Award. Alumnus Writer/Director Tim Hall accepted the honor via pre-recorded video.

About the films

“C.A.I.N.” was written by Rachel Hulshult, Kestlyn Blassengale, and Michael Culbertson, directed by Alyssa Hodges and Raunak Kapoor, produced by Preetam Nyak, Jay Russell, Garrett Spake, Yunzhi Wang, and Alex Lynas Jones, with cinematography by Conor Murdock, production design by Yunzhi Wang, Garrett Spake, Jay Russell, and Alex Lynas Jones, edited by Graham Swanson with music by Meng-Tung Lee.
“Good Boy Cerberus”
“Good Boy Cerberus” is written by Kam Szeliga, Vale Stanley, and MK Singleton; directed by MK Singleton; produced by Emily Gallinger and Robert Mageau; edited and sound designed by Jacob Boyle and Trevor Stevens; music by Lizzie He; and lead animation by MK Singleton, Kam Szeliga, and Vale Stanley.
"Landlocked" was written by Jonathan Foster (B.F.A. Filmmaking '03) and Tim Hall (B.F.A. Filmmaking ’'11), from a story by Hall, directed by Hall, produced by Leslie Hall, Tim Hall, Daniel Hansen (B.F.A. Filmmaking '11), Alexander Sablow (B.F.A. Filmmaking '09), with cinematography by Sablow, edited by Daniel Hansen and Kevin Tadge (B.F.A. Filmmaking '09), music by Son of Cloud, costume design by Karen Freed, featuring Dustin Gooch (B.F.A. Filmmaking '09) in the cast. Purvis Jordan (B.F.A. Filmmaking '09) served as the executive producer and Tiffany Luard (B.F.A. Filmmaking '08) was an associate producer.
“Adrift” is written and directed by Brian Storck; produced by Andrew Kucmierz; with cinematography by Lam Huynh; production design by Shelby Grzech; editing by Nigel Scott; sound design by Olivia Moore and Nigel Scott; visual effects supervision by Sarah Loveland; music by William Church; costume design by Andrew J. Senn; hair and makeup design by Camryn Maiorana.
“Deepwater Sponger”
“Deepwater Sponger” is written and directed by Connor Ryan; produced by Dillon Dipietro; cinematography by Katie Mlinek; production design by Emily Kuhlmann; editing by Jack Hansen; sound design by Nigel Scott and Olivia Moore; visual effects supervision by Mark Jabourian; special effects supervision by Lucas Sanders; music by Noland Vannoy; costume design by Sarah Loveland; hair and makeup design by Amelia Brown.
“Free Order”
“Free Order” was written, directed, produced and edited by alumnus Brian Sheehan (BFA Filmmaking ’19).
“Her Skin”
"Her Skin" was written and directed by Cameron Parker, produced by Cherise Honoré and Maya Penna-Scheer, with cinematography by Andrew Parkerton, production design by Alejandro Lucas Fritts, edited by Mariah Manning, and music by Nathan Shanahan.
“JAZMIN” is written and directed by Jo Hatcher; produced by Julia Walpole and Kathryn Chapman; cinematography by Asia Jones; production design by Grant West; editing by Natalie Henderson; sound design by Zachary Smith; animation director is Nichole Crawford; music by Calvin Evans, Jr. and Tyler Hawes; costume design by Rachel Anderson; hair and makeup design by JoAnn Battat.
“Mundance” is written by Aiden Winter-Deely; directed by Abby Davenport and Aiden Winter-Deely; produced by Nick Bailey; with animation by Aiden Winter-Deely, Abby Davenport, Vi DeLeon, Kasey Lewis and Melissa Rooker; edited by Lauren-Ellen Adair; sound designed by Abby Meaux and music by Tyler Hawes.
“Tiger Blanket”
“Tiger Blanket” is directed by Caro Knight; written by Ashley Miller and Robert Mageau; produced by Julia Lofton Walpole and Robert Mageau; animation by Madison Crisp, Beau Sheil and Victoria Sosa; cinematography by Willow Longbrake; production design by Abel Brone-Hammer; editing by Isaac Balachandran; sound design by Shannon Rose Kelly; music by Alexandra Franco-Zorro.
“You Know His Name”
“You Know His Name” is written by Desiree Winns and Clarke Phillips; directed by Phillips; produced by Robert Mageau; with cinematography by Ben Trevey; production design by Ben Ter Haar; edited by Isabel Rodriguez; sound design by Vasiliki Omirly; music by Michael McKeithen, Jr.; and costume design by Sarah Sims.

Contact: Kate Miller

May 17, 2022

Submit an announcement