Key provisions for COVID-19 Booster Leave Incentive

Key provisions for COVID-19 Booster Leave Incentive

The following is a listing of key policy provisions and processes regarding the COVID Booster Leave Incentive Policy.

COVID-19 Booster Leave Form 

Who is eligible

  • Receiving a booster shot is entirely voluntary; employees are not required to participate in this program;
  • Eight hours of paid leave is available to employees (SHRA and EHRA non-faculty staff and leave-earning faculty) who receive their COVID-19 booster shot on or before August 31, 2022;
  • Probationary, time-limited, and permanent employees are eligible for this leave; however, temporary employees are not eligible;
  • The leave is prorated for part-time employees;
  • New employees hired after the date of implementation of this policy are also eligible so long as they meet all other requirements;

About the booster shot

  • The leave is available only for the first booster shot received (2nd booster shots are not eligible);
  • The employee could have received the booster shot prior to the implementation of this policy;

Approval and timing

  • Consistent with other types of leave, supervisory approval is needed before employees may use the leave;
  • This leave is not paid out upon separation;
  • This leave is not transferable to another state agency/university; and
  • The leave will expire as of March 31, 2023, and will not be paid out.

Please note that the FAQ refers to a testing requirement that is specific to state cabinet agencies; the chancellors have the discretion to determine the needs for COVID-19 employee testing at their institutions.