Wind Ensemble and Chamber Winds


Emerging Artist Series

This eclectic program features music inspired by dances from around the world and close to home. The UNCSA faculty woodwind quintet, Ventus, is featured on Jeff Scott's fusion of classical and Latin jazz themes in “Baile si quiere!”

American composer Libby Larsen's highly rhythmic “Strut” is countered by the subtle repose of Warren Benson's “The Solitary Dancer.” Karel Husa's setting of Slavonic dances in Divertimento for Brass and Percussion and Malcom Arnold's “Four Scottish Dances” bring forward an array of energetic and timeless European folk dances. The program closes with Carlos Simon's personal “AMEN!” based on the composer's emotive experiences in his Pentacostal church upbringing.

Tickets $20 regular/$15 student

Stevens Center
405 W. 4th Street, Winston Salem NC