Czech Connection: UNCSA Ensembles in Concert - Livestream

Czech Connection

Emerging Artist Series

A program of works by Josef Suk, Anton Dvořák and Joseph Haydn performed by UNCSA ensembles including the Brandenburg Ensemble, the Wind Dectet and the Chamber Orchestra. 

As a young composition student at the Prague Conservatory, Josef Suk was encouraged by his mentor, Anton Dvořák, to compose a piece that was "lighter in mood." He responded with his Serenade for String Orchestra to be performed on this program by the Brandenburg Ensemble. Dvořák's gorgeous melodic writing and distinct national character are present in the chamber winds arrangement of his "Czech Suite'' performed by the UNCSA Wind Dectet conducted by Mark A. Norman. Additionally, the UNCSA Chamber Orchestra performs Haydn's Symphony No. 22, "The Philosopher," conducted by Karen Ní Bhroin.

UNCSA Livestream
Czech Connection: UNCSA Ensembles in Concert - Livestream