UNCSA Wind Ensembles: Across the Pond

Woodwind musicians

Emerging Artist Series

Different ensembles of UNCSA wind players explore the important works of British composers who have contributed to the repertoire of wind bands since their beginning.

The UNCSA Wind Ensemble performs Gustav Holst’s masterwork “Suite in E flat,” written in 1909 and widely recognized as the first original work for a concert band. The Bergstone Brass performs Howard Blake’s regal Sinfonetta for Brass, written for the famous Phillip Jones Brass Ensemble in 1987. The Chamber Winds perform Ruth Gipps’ “Seascape,” with its rippling and bellowing arpeggios, described as a “pocket-size ‘La Mer’” for wind dectet, and Adam Gorb’s “Battle Symphony,” featuring 17th-century battle romps, fanfares, drum rolls and martial scrimmaging. Edward Gregson’s epic “Concerto for Tuba” demonstrates the versatility and technical abilities of the instrument, performed by new faculty member Brent Harvey.

Mark A. Norman, Music Director/Conductor
Timothy Heath, Graduate Conductor

Program to include

  • Adam Gorb “Battle Symphony”
  • Howard Blake Sinfonetta for Brass
  • Ruth Gipps “Seascape,” Op. 53
  • Gustav Holst Suite No. 1 in E flat
  • Gordon Jacob An Original Suite
  • Edward Gregson Concert for Tuba

Ticket price: $20 regular / $15 student

Orchestra seating only. Read more here.

Stevens Center
405 W. 4th Street, Winston-Salem, NC