UNCSA Symphony Orchestra with Michael Butterman: Prokofiev's "Romeo and Juliet"

UNCSA Symphony Orchestra

Emerging Artist Series

Guest Conductor and Artist-in-Residence Michael Butterman conducts the season finale concert of the UNCSA Symphony Orchestra performing the orchestral suite from Prokofiev’s most loved ballet “Romeo and Juliet” on a program that also features works from the latter half of the 20th century, both performed with accompanying video.

Cindy McTee’s unrelenting “Circuits” produces a frantic kinetic energy that is projected in the accompanying film by Canadian video artist Aleski Moriarty. Armenian-American composer Alan Hovhaness’ celestial Symphony No. 2  (initially known by its subtitle “Mysterious Mountain”) is complemented by video artist Stephen Lias’ accompanying film.

Butterman gained international attention as a diploma laureate in the Prokofiev International Conducting Competition and as a finalist in the prestigious Besançon International Conducting Competition. He has led many of the country’s preeminent ensembles, including The Cleveland Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, National Symphony Orchestra, Detroit Symphony and Houston Symphony.

This is the final program featuring the UNCSA Symphony Orchestra as the full orchestra returns after a yearlong absence due to COVID-19 safety protocols.  

Program to include

  • Cindy McTeeCircuits” 1992
  • Alan Hovhaness Symphony No. 2, “Mysterious Mountain” (1955)
  • Sergei Prokofiev Selections from “Romeo and Juliet” (1935-36)

Ticket prices: $20 regular / $15 student

Orchestra seating only. Read more here.

Stevens Center
405 W. 4th Street, Winston-Salem, NC