The Reynolda Quartet: In The Footsteps of a Giant

The Reynolda Quartet

Faculty Artist Series

Beethoven cast a long imposing shadow on Johannes Brahms, who waited until he was 40 to publish his first string quartet proclaiming that, “You can’t have any idea what it is like always to hear such a giant marching behind you!” It is no wonder that Brahms’ first quartet Op. 51 No. 1, when it finally came, was such a masterpiece — dark, ambitious, rhythmically complex, and in the tragic C minor key of Beethoven’s great Fifth Symphony.

In the 20th century, Bartók continued to advance the string quartet form, and the groundbreaking innovation of his six quartets are often compared to that of Beethoven’s famous late quartets. In this concert the Reynolda Quartet will juxtapose Brahms’ first quartet with Bartok’s last, his epic Quartet No. 6, written at the outset of World War II.

Founded in 2019 to illustrate a progressive partnership between two of Winston-Salem’s premier cultural organizations, Reynolda Quartet features renowned faculty-artists Ida Bieler and Janet Orenstein, violins; Ulrich Eichenauer, viola; and Brooks Whitehouse, cello.

Ida Bieler, violin
Ulrich Eichenauer, viola
Janet Orenstein, violin
Brooks Whitehouse, cello

Program to include

  • Brahms String Quartet No. 1
  • Bartók String Quartet No. 6

Ticket prices: $25 regular / $20 student

Reynolda House Museum of American Art
2250 Reynolda Rd, Winston-Salem, NC 27106