Media Contact: Marla Carpenter, 336-770-3337,



WINSTON-SALEM – The University of North Carolina School of the Arts (UNCSA) recently presented five Alumni Achievement Awards.

Awards were presented during the spring Alumni Weekend to Kenneth Frazelle (Music ‘74), Jennifer “Jen” Haire (Film ‘02), Angela “Angie” Hays (Design and Production  ‘07), Trey McIntyre (Dance ‘87), and Ira David Wood (Drama ’66 and ‘70).

Recipients were chosen by a vote of the alumni, from nominations put forth by a committee of deans, faculty, and Jonas Silver, director of Alumni Affairs. The awards recognize professional achievements, community involvement, and support of UNCSA.

Kenneth Frazelle is a composer whose music has been commissioned and performed by numerous prominent artists, including Yo-Yo Ma, Jeffrey Kahane, Dawn Upshaw, Emmanuel Ax, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Paula Robison, John Adams, the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, Jan DeGaetani, and Gilbert Kalish. Frazelle first received international acclaim with his score for "Still/Here," a multimedia dance/theatre work for the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company. Frazelle was the winner of the 2001 Barlow Prize, the international competition administered through Brigham Young University. He has received awards and fellowships from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the American Academy in Rome, and Columbia University. He has held residencies with the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, the Santa Rosa Symphony and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum. Frazelle was a pupil of Roger Sessions at The Juilliard School and graduated in 1978 with the Gretchaninoff Award for High Achievement in Composition. He attended high school at the School of the Arts, where he studied with Robert Ward. He now teaches composition in UNCSA’s School of Music. His music is published by Subito Music Corporation.

Jennifer Haire earned a BFA in the producing discipline. Her professional filmmaking experience spans from Line Producer to Production Coordinator in feature films, television and short films.  She served as Associate Producer on the feature documentary TREKKIES 2; UPM on independent features such as MARCUS, MONTCLAIR, YEARDLEY and the short film THE SHIMMERING (the latter were collaborations with UNCSA Alumni).  Haire was a 2nd Assistant Director on the 2004 Academy Award Winning Short Film TWO SOLDIERS.  She was the production coordinator for the independent feature films BOTTOMS UP, HEAVY PETTING and THE STONING OF SORAYA M. filmed in the Middle East.  Her television experience includes the Travel Channel’s World Poker Tour “Hollywood Home Games,” ABC’S The Bachelor and seven seasons of TNT’s The Closer along with various pilots for Lifetime, TBS, TNT and FX.   Haire is also an instructor and collaborator for PA BOOTCAMP.  She is on the Board of Directors for IATSE Local 871 in Los Angeles, a member of Local 161 in NY and the Producer’s Guild of America.  She assisted in the creation of UNCSA Alumni West in Los Angeles and now serves on its steering committee.

Angie Hays is executive director of the North Carolina Theatre Conference (NCTC), the state’s service, leadership and advocacy organization for theatre. In addition to her work with NCTC, Hays is a member of the board of the directors and co-chair of advocacy for ARTS NC, a statewide advocacy organization. She has served on the national Free Night of Theater steering committee for Theatre Communications Group (TCG) and on grants panels for the Arts Council of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County. She has returned to UNCSA as a guest instructor in the Performing Arts Management program, and has been a part-time professor of arts administration at Elon University and Greensboro College and a guest instructor at Wake Forest University and Salem College. Prior to her work at NCTC, Hays was manager of audience development and communications at Paper Mill Playhouse in New Jersey, a fund-raising campaign coordinator for the Arts Council of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County, the associate general manager for the UNCSA Summer Performance Festival, director of the children’s division at the Docherty Agency in Pittsburgh, and the casting director for Porthouse Theatre in Ohio.

Trey McIntyre is one of the most sought-after choreographers working today, and has created a canon of more than 80 works for companies such as American Ballet Theatre, Stuttgart Ballet, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, New York City Ballet and Ballet de Santiago (Chile). He served as choreographic associate for Houston Ballet from 1989-2008 and resident choreographer for Oregon Ballet Theatre, Ballet Memphis and the Washington Ballet before forming his acclaimed Trey McIntyre Project in 2008. In 2010 McIntyre was named the United States Artists Wynn Fellow. He has received two choreographic fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, and a Choo-San Goh Award for Choreography. McIntyre was named one of Dance Magazine’s “25 to Watch” in 2011.

Ira David Wood is founder, executive director and artistic director of Raleigh's prestigious Theatre In The Park. Wood wrote and directed the opening ceremonies for the 1987 Summer Olympic Festival, still the largest single event in North Carolina history. He is the recipient of The Builder of Bridges Award from The Babcock Center Foundation, The Morrison Award presented by The Roanoke Island Historical Association, and The Order of The Long Leaf Pine (one of the highest honors the state can bestow on a citizen). Triangle Business magazine presented him with the Legacy Leader Award. He is the only two-time recipient of the Medal of Arts Award, presented by the Raleigh Art Commission, and is an inductee in the Raleigh Hall of Fame. In honor of his many achievements, Raleigh’s City Council voted unanimously to rename his theatre’s facility “The Ira David Wood III Pullen Park Theatre.” Consistently voted best local actor in decades of public opinion polls, he has played roles such as King Lear, Hamlet, Cyrano de Bergerac, Sir Walter Raleigh, Dracula, Don Quixote, and Romeo. Wood has also accumulated impressive film and television credits, having appeared on screen with such stars as Christopher Walken, Natalie Wood, Cliff Robertson, Burt Reynolds and Louise Fletcher. An award-winning playwright, Wood has seen his works produced throughout the United States. He is a contributing writer for the book “Murder In Dealey Plaza,” and the author of a Christmas book entitled “Confessions Of An Elf.” Wood received both a high school diploma and a bachelor’s degree from the School of the Arts. As a student, he served as president of the student government for two years, taught Acting For Dancers, appeared in The Nutcracker ballet, and won the lead in the School of Drama's first production. 

Also nominated for the awards were Gilana Lobel and Will Files from the School of Filmmaking; Keith Lewis and Clay Benning from the School of Design and Production; John Mangan and Margo Garrett from the School of Music; Grady Bowman and Helen Simoneau from the School of Dance; and Richard “Dikki” Ellis and Preston Lane from the School of Drama.

The University of North Carolina School of the Arts is the first state-supported, residential school of its kind in the nation. Established as the North Carolina School of the Arts by the N.C. General Assembly in 1963, UNCSA opened in Winston-Salem (“The City of Arts and Innovation”) in 1965 and became part of the University of North Carolina system in 1972. More than 1,100 students from high school through graduate school train for careers in the arts in five professional schools: Dance, Design and Production (including a Visual Arts Program), Drama, Filmmaking, and Music. UNCSA is the state’s only public arts conservatory, dedicated entirely to the professional training of talented students in the performing, visual and moving image arts. For more information, visit www.uncsa.edu.