UPDATED: We've learned that School of Design and Production alumnus Peter Rogness ALSO won an Emmy, for Outstanding Art Direction for a Miniseries or Movie for his work on Mildred Pierce on HBO. A member of the Class of 1984, Rogness studied Scene Design at the School of the Arts.

UNCSA Logo' 


Media Contact: Marla Carpenter, 336-770-3337, carpem@uncsa.edu


Multiple Alumni Have Ties to Emmys

WINSTON-SALEM – Several alumni of the University of North Carolina School of the Arts (UNCSA) have ties to the Emmy Awards, including one graduate who won in a category announced on Sept. 10.

Zach Seivers (School of Filmmaking, Class of 2006, Editing & Sound) won the award for Outstanding Sound Editing for Nonfiction Programming for his work on Gettysburg (History Channel).

Seivers’ Emmy is a source of pride and affirmation for the School of Filmmaking, according to Dean Jordan Kerner, producer of such hit feature films as THE SMURFS, CHARLOTTE’S WEB, THE THREE MUSKETEERS, and FRIED GREEN TOMATOES. “At this skyrocketing School of Filmmaking, we aspire to the highest caliber of teaching and film experience for every filmmaker in each of our disciplines,” Kerner said. “Zach is an artist at the top of his game at a very young age.

“This award is further evidence that the film and television industry leaders recognize and appreciate the astonishing skills of our alumni,” Kerner added.

The Primetime Emmy Awards ceremony will be broadcast live from Los Angeles beginning at 8 p.m. ET Sunday on the Fox Television Network. Some awards for creative and technical categories are announced early, during the Creative Arts Emmy ceremony, which was held last Saturday in Los Angeles. The Creative Arts ceremony will be televised on the Reelz Channel this Saturday, Sept. 17, at 8 p.m. ET.

Zach Seivers

Also announced last week was the award for Outstanding Directing in a Variety, Music or Comedy Special, which went to the director of Sondheim! The Birthday Concert (PBS). Matt Cowart (School of Drama, Class of 2004, Directing) was co-producer and assistant director for that show.

Two UNCSA alumni have ties to DirecTV’s Friday Night Lights, which is nominated for four Emmys to be presented Sunday. Adam Christopher Banks (School of Filmmaking, Class of 2006, Producing) served as post-production supervisor, and Matt Lauria (School of Drama, Class of 2007, Acting) played Luke Cafferty on the series. Friday Night Lights is nominated for Outstanding Lead Actor (Kyle Chandler), Outstanding Lead Actress (Connie Britton), Outstanding Writing, and Outstanding Drama Series.

Zach Seivers is originally from Mount Airy. This was his first Emmy Award nomination. He was sound designer on Gettysburg, and shares his award with sound editors Charles Maynes, who was a guest artist in the School of Filmmaking in January 2006, and Brent Kiser. Seivers is chief operating officer of SNAPSOUND, a post-production sound company located in Los Angeles.

Many other UNCSA film alumni worked on Gettysburg, which was nominated for seven awards, and won four. Matt Goldberg (Class of 2004, Producing) was line producer, and is head of production at Herzog-Cowen Entertainment, which co-produced the film along with Scott Free Productions. John Maynard (Class of 2009, Editing & Sound) was assistant sound editor, and Justin Davey (Class of 2008, Editing and Sound) was additional sound re-recording mixer.

In addition to Seivers’ win for sound editing, Gettysburg won for Outstanding Nonfiction Special, Outstanding Costumes and Outstanding Visual Effects.

UNCSA alumni have won numerous other Emmy Awards in the past. Additionally, UNCSA Chancellor John Mauceri has won two Emmys: one for writing, Hollywood Bowl Orchestra broadcast (1994); and one for on-camera performance, Hollywood Bowl Orchestra broadcast (1998).

The Emmy Awards are administered by three sister organizations that focus on various sectors of television programming: The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (prime time), the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (daytime, sports, news and documentary), and the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (international). The awards recognize excellence within various areas of the television industry, and are a symbol of peer recognition from more than 15,000 members of the Academy. Each member casts a ballot for the category of competition in their field of expertise.

The University of North Carolina School of the Arts is the first state-supported, residential school of its kind in the nation. Established as the North Carolina School of the Arts by the N.C. General Assembly in 1963, UNCSA opened in Winston-Salem (“The City of Arts and Innovation”) in 1965 and became part of the University of North Carolina system in 1972. More than 1,100 students from high school through graduate school train for careers in the arts in five professional schools: Dance, Design and Production (including a Visual Arts Program), Drama, Filmmaking, and Music. UNCSA is the state’s only public arts conservatory, dedicated entirely to the professional training of talented students in the performing, visual and moving image arts. For more information, visit www.uncsa.edu.