New Music Performances

Composition Studio

New Music Performances

Music by living composers is a central facet of the UNCSA experience, and student compositions are part of that creative climate. Below is a listing of Fall 2017, including those featuring works by student composers.

Fall 2017

Saturday, Sept. 2, 7:30 p.m.
Watson Hall
Connections: Georgia O’Keefe and Music
Faculty artists perform music connected to the paintings of Georgia O’Keefe, including Katherine Hoover’s "Kokopeli" and Libby Larsen’s "Black Birds, Red Hills."

Sunday, Sept. 17, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 19, 7:30 p.m.
Stevens Center
Winston-Salem Symphony
Robert Moody leads the orchestra in performances of David Ott’s "Concerto for Two Cellos and Orchestra."

Saturday, Sept. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Stevens Center
An American Influence
Christopher Lees leads the UNCSA Symphony Orchestra in a performance of Alan Fletcher’s Se una notte d’inverno un viaggiatore.

Thursday, Sept. 28, 7:30 p.m.
Stevens Center
New York Reflections
Mark Norman leads the UNCSA Wind Ensemble in Michael Daugherty’s Ladder to the Moon and the premiere of An Offering to the A.I. Overlords by Derek Arnold.

Sunday, Oct. 1, 2 p.m.
Carolina Performing Arts
Cold Mountain
N.C. Opera production of Jennifer Higdon’s Cold Mountain. Transportation and tickets provided. 

Tuesday, Oct. 3, 7:30 p.m.
Watson Hall
Black Mountain Trio
Faculty artists give NC premiere of Evan Chambers’ A Hundred Ways.

Wednesday, Oct. 11, 3:15 p.m.
Watson Hall
Beethoven's Slippers
Performance of a one-act opera by UNCSA alumna Judith Cloud.

Friday, Oct. 13, 7:30 p.m.
Watson Hall
Nicholas Karr
Senior Recital includes performances of Seine for solo piano, Fourth Stream for saxophone quartet and The Flaw in Trying for string quartet

Saturday, Oct. 14, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 15, 3 p.m.
Stevens Center
Winston-Salem Symphony
Robert Moody leads the orchestra in performances of James Stephenson’s Trumpet Concerto.

Friday, Oct. 27, 8 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 29, 2 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 31, 7:30 p.m.
Stevens Center
Piedmont Opera
James Allbritten conducts the NC premiere of Kevin Puts’ Silent Night.

Saturday, Oct. 28, 7:30 p.m.
Watson Hall
Oliver Glynn
Senior Recital includes premieres of Nighttime Search for choir and piano, Study for solo flute and Atticus Toast for horn and piano.

Friday, Nov. 3, 7:30 p.m.
Watson Hall
The Evolution of Miminalism
Saxophone students of Robert Young perform music by Louis Andriessen, Philip Glass, David Lang, Steve Reich and the premiere of Ripple by Nicholas Karr.

Saturday, Nov. 4, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 5, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 7, 7:30 p.m.
Stevens Center
Winston Salem Symphony
Robert Moody leads the orchestra in a performance of Mason Bates’s Alternative Energy.

Thursday, Nov. 9, 7:30 p.m.
Stevens Center
Ecstatic Waters
Mark Norman leads the UNCSA Wind Ensemble in James Stephenson’s The Storyteller and Rhythms of the Spirit, as well as Steven Bryant’s Ecstatic Waters.

Saturday, Nov. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Watson Hall
Essential Trios
Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center performs Krzysztof Penderecki’s String Trio.