Michael Rothkopf

Composition faculty Michael Rothkopf's teaching philosophy centers on three principles. First, he believes in listening to his students so as to inhabit and understand their ideas, their perspective and their world. Second, he believes that quality ideas will engage learners, when presented in a clear, organized and precise manner. Third, he believes that ideas presented in the abstract must be put into practice in order to be embraced and made real for learners.


  • Assistant Dean of Music and Graduate Programs at UNC School of the Arts, School of Music, 1991 - 2013
  • Former teaching appointments include Columbia University, Yeshiva University and Stern College
  • Principal teachers have been Normand Lockwood, Mario Davidovsky, Jack Beeson, Susan Blaustein, George Edwards, Chou Wen-Chung, Jacques-Louis Monod and Harry Safstrom

Career Highlights

  • Composed works have been performed throughout the United States by notable musicians and ensembles such as Ulrich Eichenauer, Tara Helen O'Connor, William Anderson, Jean Kopperud, Debra Reuter-Pivetta, Theresa Radomski, Brooks Whitehouse, Lachezar Kostov, Kevin Lawrence, Steven LaCosse, the Cygnus Ensemble and the National Orchestra Association
  • Founding member of the Journal for Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT)
  • Founding member of the MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Online Teaching) Music Editorial Board
  • President of the Green Mountain Chamber Music Festival, 2005-2008
  • Executive Director of the League of Composers/International Society for Contemporary Music U.S. Section, 1989 - 1991
  • Music Director of the Ariel Contemporary Chamber Ensemble, 1982 - 1986

Honors, Recognitions & Awards

  • Awarded fellowships from Yaddo, Carnegie Hall, the National Orchestra Association and Columbia University


D.M.A.Columbia University

M.A.Columbia University

B.M.University of Denver