Preparatory Dance

Preparatory Dance

Preparatory Dance

The UNCSA Preparatory Dance program presents a unique opportunity for young dancers to experience the joy of developing their artistry in a nurturing atmosphere. Focusing on the etiquette and discipline necessary for building a solid foundation in ballet technique, this after-school, pre-professional training program has received national recognition for its excellence. The program runs from third to ninth grade, with children's ballet classes for younger dancers.

Preparatory Dance faculty are certified in the American Ballet Theatre National Training Curriculum that combines high quality artistic training, dancer health and child development. Classical ballet vocabulary is developed progressively with an emphasis on sound body alignment, musicality, coordination and attention to dynamic detail to prepare students to audition for the UNCSA High School Program, other pre-professional training programs or simple enjoy a lifetime of dance!

For students who want to follow a different path the new Prep Dance Contemporary Program ‘Stomping Ground’ is designed to introduce and develop the technical and creative aspects of Contemporary Dance for the young dancer.  Drawing on multiple styles of dance and somatic practices, students will take Contemporary technique class twice a week followed by Dance Composition, Improvisation, or Performance Ensemble.   

2022-23 Calendar

Fall Semester: September 6 – December 21, 2022

Tuesday, Sept. 6             Orientation
Wednesday, Sept. 7 Classes begin
Thursday, Oct. 27 - Friday, Oct. 28 

Halloween (Dance appropriate costume)

Wednesday, Nov. 23 – Sunday, Nov. 27 Thanksgiving Break
Monday, Nov. 28 Classes resume
Tuesday, Dec. 6 - Friday, Dec. 9 Parent Observation Week
Saturday, Dec. 17 - Sunday, Dec. 18 Nutcracker Tea Party
Thursday, Dec. 22 - Wednesday, Jan. 4 Prep Holiday Break

Spring Semester: January 3 – June 11, 2023

Tuesday Jan. 3 Classes resume
Monday, Jan. 16 MLK Day, no classes
Monday, April 3 - Sunday, April 9 Spring Break, no classes
Monday, April 10 Classes resume
Monday, May 15 - Friday, May 19 Parents Observation Week
Monday, May 22 - Friday, May 26 Assessment Class Week
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day, no classes
Monday, June 5 - Saturday, June 10 Spring Festival Production Week - All Prep Students
Sunday, June 11 Summer Break

 


For more information about the Preparatory Dance Program, visit FacebookInstagram and Twitter.