Three-Year Academic Calendar

See the current academic calendar. Note: The approved 2023-2024 semesters and the 2024-25 semesters are located below the approved 2022-23.

Fall Semester

2022-23 Approved
E-Z Arts opens for Incoming C1 course registration (Arts and DLA classes) & G1 course registration Mon Jul 25
E-Z Arts opens for schedule changes (returning students) Mon Aug 1
New High School students arrive Thu Aug 11
Returning High School students arrive Sat Aug 13
High School classes begin; New Graduate students arrive Mon Aug 15
New Undergraduate students arrive Tue Aug 16
High School classes held Wed Aug 17
Returning Graduate and Undergraduate students arrive Thu Aug 18
University classes begin; Special student registration Mon Aug 22
Last day to Add or Drop a Fall semester class by 5 PM Fri Aug 26
Census Fri Sep 2
Labor Day (no classes held; offices closed) Mon Sep 5
Campus In-Service for faculty & students (12:30-4:30 pm):  Classes held in the morning. Tue Sep 20
Last day to withdraw from classes with grade of "W" by 5 PM; High School Midterm Fri Oct 7
Fall Break  Sat-Tue Oct 8-11
Thanksgiving Holiday Wed-Sun Nov 23-27
Last day of High School Academic classes and Division
of Liberal Arts classes
Tue Nov 29
University and High School exams Wed-Sat Nov 30-Dec 3
Last day of Arts classes Fri Dec 16
Semester ends Sat Dec 17

 

Spring Semester

2022-23 Approved
Residence halls reopen Sun Jan 8
Classes begin; Special student registration Mon Jan 9
 Arts School check-in Mon Jan 9
Last day to Add or Drop a Spring semester class Fri Jan 13
Martin Luther King Jr. Day; No Classes Mon Jan 16
Campus In-Service for faculty & students (8 a.m-12 p.m.): Classes held in the afternoon Thu Feb 9
Last day to withdraw from classes with grade of "W" Fri Feb 24
Spring Break; No Classes Sat-Sun Mar 4-12
Last day of University classes Mon May 1
University exams Tue-Thu May 2-4
High School academic classes held Wed May 3
Last day of High School classes Thu May 4
High School exam review day Fri May 5
University Commencement (10 a.m.) Sat May 6
High School exams Mon-Wed May 8-10
High School exam makeup day  Thu May 11
High School Commencement (10 a.m.)  Sat May 13

 

Fall Semester

2023-24 Approved 2024-25 Proposed
E-Z Arts opens for Incoming C1 course registration (Arts and DLA classes) & G1 course registration Mon Jul 24 Jul 22
E-Z Arts opens for schedule changes (returning students) Mon Jul 31 Jul 29
New High School students arrive Thu Aug 10 Aug 8
Returning High School students arrive Sat Aug 12 Aug10
High School classes begin; New Graduate students arrive Mon Aug 14 Aug 12
New Undergraduate students arrive Tue Aug 15 Aug 13
High School classes held Wed Aug 16 Aug 14
Returning Graduate and Undergraduate students arrive Thu Aug 17 Aug 15
University classes begin; Special student registration Mon Aug 21 Aug 19
Last day to Add or Drop a Fall semester class by 5 PM Fri Aug 25 Aug 23
Census Fri Sep 1 Aug 30
Labor Day (no classes held; offices closed) Mon Sep 4 Sep 2
Campus In-Service for faculty & students (12:30-4:30 pm):  Classes held in the morning. Tue Sep 19 Sep 17
Last day to withdraw from classes with grade of "W" by 5 PM; High School Midterm Fri Oct 6 Oct 4
Fall Break  Sat-Tue Oct 7-10 Oct 5-8
Last day to withdraw from UNCSA Fri Oct 27 Oct 25
Thanksgiving Holiday Break Wed-Sun Nov 22-26 Nov 27-Dec 1
Last day of All classes  Mon Dec 11 Dec 9
Reading Day Tue Dec 12 Dec 10
Exam Period; HS Arts Activities  3:30-6 PM; UG Arts Exams/Activities 3:30-8 PM Wed-Sat Dec 13-16 Dec 11-14
Semester Ends Sat Dec 16 Dec 14

 

Spring Semester

2023-24 Approved 2024-25 Proposed
Residence halls reopen Sun Jan 14 Jan 19
Classes begin; check-in begins;Special student registration Tue Jan 16 Jan 21
Last day to Add or Drop a Spring semester class by 5 PM Mon Jan 22 Jan 27
Census Mon Jan 29 Feb 3
Campus In-Service for faculty & students (8 AM-noon): Classes held in the afternoon and evening Thu Feb 15 Feb 20
Last day to withdraw from classes with grade of "W" by 5 PM  Fri Mar 1 Mar 7
Spring Break; No Classes Sat-Sun Mar 9-17 Mar 15-23
High School academic classes held Wed May 1 May 7
Last day of grad & undergrad classes (Arts & DLA) Mon May 6 May 12
Undergraduate and Graduate Final Exams Tue-Thu May 7-9 May 13-15
Last day of High School classes Thu May 9 May 15
High School Exam Review Day Fri May 10 May 16
High School Exams Mon-Wed May 13-15 May 19-21
High School Exam Make-up Day Thu May 16 May 22
High School & College Commencements Sat May 18 May 24
Semester ends Sat May 18 May 24