Academic Calendar

This modified calendar enables UNCSA to maintain the necessary instructional days required while limiting travel to help reduce virus exposure.

  • UNCSA will forego the Labor Day holiday, fall and spring breaks.
  • The duration of winter break will be expanded. 

Fall 2020 semester

Wednesday, July 29 E-Z Arts opens for incoming University freshman and first-year graduate students to register for courses.
Monday, Aug. 3 E-Z Arts reopens for University students to make schedule changes
Monday-Friday, Aug. 10-14 High School, University and Graduate school onboarding
Monday, Aug. 17 All classes begin; Arts Schools check-in begins
Friday, Aug. 21 Last day to add or drop a fall semester class by 5 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 28 Census
Monday, Sept. 7 Labor Day. Classes will be held; offices will be open
Wednesday, Sept. 9 No classes
Wednesday, Sept. 30 High School midterm
Friday, Oct. 2 Last day to withdraw from fall semester classes with grade of "W" by 5 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 6 Regular Tuesday classes will not be held today. Regular Wednesday classes will be held on this date instead.
Wednesday, Oct. 7 No classes
Monday-Friday, Oct. 19-23 Course Planning for spring semester
Monday-Friday, Oct. 26-Nov. 6 Online registration for spring semester
Wednesday, Nov. 4 No classes
Thursday, Nov. 5 Regular Thursday classes will not be held today. Regular Wednesday classes will be held on this date instead.
Thursday, Nov. 19 Last day of all classes.
Friday-Tuesday, Nov. 20-24 In-person exams/juries
Wednesday-Friday, Nov. 25-27 Thanksgiving holiday break. Offices open Wednesday.
Monday-Wednesday, Nov. 30-Dec. 9 Online exams

Spring 2021 semester

Monday, Feb. 1 E-Z Arts open for late registration and schedule changes
Monday, Feb. 8 Classes begin; Arts schools check-ins, Special student registration
Friday, Feb. 12 Last day to add or drop a spring semester class by 5 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 19 Census
Tuesday, March 2 Regular Tuesday classes will not be held today. Regular Wednesday classes will be held on this date instead.
Wednesday, March 3 No classes
Wednesday, March 24 No classes
Friday, March 26 Last day to withdraw from a spring semester class with a grade of "W" by 5 p.m.
Wednesday, March 31 High School midterm
Monday-Friday, April 12-16 Course planning for fall 2021 semester
Wednesday, April 14 No classes
Thursday, April 15 Regular Thursday classes will not be held today. Regular Wednesday classes will be held on this date instead.
Monday-Friday, April 19-30 Registration for fall 2021 semester
Thursday, May 13 Last day of all classes
Friday, May 14 Reading Day (no classes)
Monday-Thursday, May 17-20 Final exams
Saturday, May 22 College & Graduate commencement; High School commencement