Excellence in Teaching Award

Each year UNCSA presents the Excellence in Teaching Award to outstanding faculty members who are making an exceptional impact on teaching. As faculty, students and alumni, you are instrumental in the process of fostering excellent teaching at UNCSA through your support of this award. Your nominations begin, guide and influence this process. 

Please read the award criteria. If you know a current, full-time permanent faculty member who deserves such recognition, please consider nominating that individual.

Award criteria

Faculty who are recognized for excellence in teaching shall demonstrate:

  • Concern for students
  • Enthusiasm for the subject they teach
  • Ability to motivate student effort
  • Ability to fairly critique student effort and communicate that critique to the student
  • Organization of knowledge for student use
  • Command of the subject being taught
  • Up-to-date scholarship/creative work and awareness of recent developments in their field
  • Ability to integrate professional development into their teaching
  • Commitment to the UNCSA community and the greater community

In accordance with UNC regulations, award recipients from the previous two years are not eligible for nomination. A list of award recipients from the last two years are:

2019-20 Recipients
Tadeu Coelho, School of Music
Janna Levin, Division of Liberal Arts
Krisha Marcano, School of Drama
Joanne Moore, School of Filmmaking
Wade Wilson, School of Design and Production
Abigail Yager, School of Dance

2020-21 Recipients
Eva Draw, School of Dance
Cameron Knight, School of Drama
Kjersten Lester-Moratzka, School of Design and Production
Joseph Pecoraro, School of Music
Lauren Vilchik, School of Filmmaking
Michael Wakeford, Division of Liberal Arts


How to make a nomination

Please complete and submit the nomination form below by Oct. 5, 2021.

In the comments section, explain why the individual being nominated is worthy of the award. The selection committee relies on these statements for its decisions, so your comments should be clear, convincing and focused on why your nominee is the best award candidate. A nominee need not be someone from your school, division or program.

You may nominate up to two faculty members (one per nomination form), but you should know enough about their teaching to provide strong justification statements. Refer to "5 Tips for Strengthening Nomination Statements."