NextNow 2017

NextNow 2017

NextNow 2017 was held on Saturday, February 25, in conjunction with the School of Dance’s Winter Dance Concert. The “classic meets cutting edge” themed cocktail party at the Embassy Suites featured heavy hors d’oeuvres, an open bar, dazzling dancers high above the crowd and a very special surprise student (and Chancellor!) performance.

Thank you to all NextNow 2017 supporters and attendees for an unforgettable evening.

Being back in the theatre brought tears to my eyes, reminding me of the possibilities UNCSA brings to its students.

Dwana Smallwood, UNCSA alumna and NextNow Honorary Chair

Honorary Chairs

Dwanna Smallwood UNCSA School of Dance alumna Dwana Smallwood will serve as an Honorary Chair of NextNow 2017. A former principal dancer with Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, she was proclaimed  “one of the greatest modern dancers” by Vogue magazine. Smallwood joined the Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls in South Africa in 2009, where she was the architect of the school's Dance Program. She founded the Dwana Smallwood Performing Arts Center in Brooklyn in 2013 and currently serves as executive director.  
Wanda Plemmons

Wanda Plemmons is a native of Winston-Salem, where she began her study of dance at the Academy of Dance Arts. She continued her training at UNCSA, where she later helped found the Alumni Association and served as President for several years. Wanda was designated "Outstanding Teacher in the Arts" by UNCSA in 2009. In 2014, she was selected to represent the Dance Department in UNCSA's 50th Anniversary films.

Wanda performed with Winston Salem Civic Ballet, Governor's School and UNCSA productions. She has taught in Winston Salem since 1970, guiding hundreds of dancers to careers and continues to serve as owner and Director of the Academy of Dance Arts.




  • Wells Fargo
  • Inmar
  • Arbor Investment Advisors
  • First Tennessee Bank
  • Kilpatrick Townsend
  • Womble Carlyle
  • Reynolds American, Inc.
  • Mr. Alexander C. Ewing
  • Mr. and Mrs. John D. Gates
  • Mr. and Mrs. John R. Mann
  • Mr. and Mrs. Thomas D. Skinner
  • Dr. and Mrs. Malcolm M. Brown
  • Thomas S. Kenan III

Special Thanks

  • Mrs. Susan K. Conger
  • Mr. and Mrs. Douglas M. Henderson
  • Mr. John Hoemann
  • Mrs. Shelley S. Holden
  • Mrs. Elizabeth B. Madden
  • Mrs. Kathryn Y. Reece
  • Mr. Andrew H. Veach
  • Mrs. Katherine White
  • Mrs. Danielle Williams